The Edge.

cd
You said the edge was dangerous too
But I didn’t mind because I was with you
Tip-toeing around the outskirts
Made me unafraid of the hurt
I was always going overboard
Getting but wanting more
Holding onto yesterday
You said everything would be okay
But then I starting falling too fast
Over the edge I fell
Selfish, you couldn’t even tell
The past caught up with me
Because I never let go
Of all the “What if’s” and “Should be’s”
I thought maybe you would rescue me
I made you my sanctuary
Gave you the burdens I felt like
I couldn’t carry
But I found out I can’t find refuge in you
I must be my own hero
In discovering my unique truth
My heart wants roots
My mind wants wings
And these things will collide
To create my inner being

Leave a Reply

