You have me in your back pocket.

There we were sitting in grand central station. People watching as we always did. Just having the time of our lives because we were there together. Laughing and making jokes was the highlight of our day. I remember that day like it was yesterday, we were so happy. Everyone knew. Everyone could tell already and we didn’t even know it. We didn’t know that this would be the day that our eyes locked and we both felt the fire inside our hearts. We didn’t know that of all these days, of all the hours, minutes, seconds, that this would be the time I would actually look at you differently.

We were just friends, best friends in fact. I could spit out random facts about you like when you lost your virginity and what your favorite flavor ice cream was. And you could tell me the first day we met in second grade and how many times I have dyed my hair. It was so simple that our hearts were intertwined at that very moment  but we couldn’t even see it. All we saw was a true friendship. We laughed together and we cried together. We did everything together. Everyone knew we were in love but we ourselves had no idea. We had no idea because this was so natural for us. Spending all of our time together is just what we did. Not because we felt like we had to but simply because we wanted to.

I knew that night when I came to your door crying that everything was going to be okay because you were there to comfort me. You were there to pick up the broken pieces of my heart. And that time I saw you kissing Jenna, I must admit I was a little jealous. I still to this day couldn’t figure out why, but now I know. That very second when we locked eyes, it just hit me like a train. I was thinking in my head, “Maybe I came crying to him that night because it was not even suppose to work out with that other guy. Maybe you have been there all along for a reason.” So many thoughts raced through my head, I couldn’t even keep still.

Image

I haven’t seen you face to face in about a month now. Seems like forever though. I will never forget that day I fell in love with my best friend. You still mean the world to me.

 

Even though your miles away, I still am in love with you and your pretty green eyes. No matter what, even if we don’t see each other for another ten years, I will always be there for you. You can just say, “You have me in your back pocket.”

 

Leave a Reply

